top of page

15:00:00 (3:00) 10/24/14

I am currently sitting in the Upper Arlington Panera attempting to charge all of my electronics. This is what happened....

I was walking from my bus stop, eager to get home to eat some ice cream. And I do get home. And I eat that ice cream. Then I put it away so it doesn't spoil. That's when it all started.

The Power Outage.

Everything just turns off. No warning. Just off. Darn pa-tootin. I wanted to watch some Netflix.. and do some homework for that matter... but the fact is, we don't have power. I hadn't realized how much we depend on power, until now. And why did this happen, you ask? Supposedly, a dump truck driver was texting and driving and hit an electrical pole. Fantastic. Because of this dependence on technology, we are at a loss of power until 1:00 tomorrow morning. In case you've forgotten, that means we can't open our fridge and freezer until tomorrow or our food will spoil. No matter how much I tried to save that ice cream, it may spoil anyway.

Well shoot.

What's wrong with us that we can't put down our phones to save ourselves and others. A win-win that we refuse to take.

Just so you know, I am not trying to write in vain. I get heated sometimes, is all. I just cannot comprehend why we do such things. I say 'we' because I know for a fact that the adults reading this have done the same, at least once; texting and driving is the same as texting at a red light. Sure, you may not run into a pole while doing so, but you may run into someone else unintentionally or coast into the middle of an intersection. The point is that we all screw up, but try to screw up less.

In summary, stupid things happen for stupid reasons. Don't be that person that causes a bad power outage.

Until next time,

Emma

P.s. The man that caused the whole thing is okay, thank goodness. Nobody deserves to die for something like that. A lesson is good enough.

P.s.s. I was a little everywhere in this post, I am frazzled. This is the product of a frazzled being.

P.s.s.s. I could’ve covered this more, but I feel like the matter spoke for itself.

P.s.s.s.s. Sorry, I just felt like you needed more extensions.

P.s.s.s.s.s. No this is not paid for by the Department of Public service of whatever. Just a spewing of words that turned out to be a PSA.


Recent Posts
bottom of page