top of page

The Jungle Book

Recently, I was in a play titled The Jungle Book. You may know this as the highly popular Disney musical with songs like "The Bare Necessities", "I Wanna Be like You", and what not but I'd like to be clear: This was not a musical. It was hysterical how many people came thinking it was, in fact, a musical and leaving in shock because it was kinda super intense. Nevertheless, they still enjoyed the hidden humor, and morals they were left pondering.

This play was really cool not just because of the intensity, but it was done by a mix of younger and older professional actors. Going into the first rehearsals got to be nerve-racking because I felt we we're put on a pedestool along with the professionals because we were working with them now. I soon realized that we were held to higher standards but it's still as fun and chill as it usually is. Maybe it's the fact that we had little over a month to prepare the show. Either way, I made good friends, became better friends with some, and heard about my new favorite musical of all time: Heathers.

In The Jungle Book, I played Priestess #1 and Chill the Kite (an eagle). The role of the Priest-i (as we call them plurally), is to tell the story. We're the narrators that tell the "master words of our brothers" and move the story along. We are the only humans in the entire show, which- I think- makes the role über important. Chill the kite, on the other hand, is an über small role. At least, that's what I thought at first. It was maybe 1 page of entirely seperated lines that weren't even that long, but I soon realized that, without my role, Mowgli wouldv'e died. All thanks to me, we had a happy end to the show.

That just helps us all to realize-- "there are no small roles, only small actors"

Until next time,

Emma


Recent Posts
bottom of page