top of page

Voice Lessons

I have sung my entire life. I love it, and for the longest time, I hadn't taken voice lessons. People would always ask me "Wow, you have a great voice! How long have you taken voice lessons?" and I always loved to reply with "I don't" because 1) it's true and 2) they think I've taken them my whole life. I loved that feeling. Until recently.

I felt like I wasn't good enough in the musical theatre world. There is so much competition now in the community all the way to Broadway and beyond. I have to be the toop of the line to be noticed and hired. So I willingly agreed to take voice lessons. I try to use " willingly" sparingly because I didn't want help until someone reached out to me. So we started lessons. Right off the bat, I felt better about my singing. I sung new songs, learned how to belt healthily, breath properly. Some of these things might make you think "wow... she doesn't know how to breath?" or something like that, but no, not when singing. I have been taught the wrong things my whole life, and it's hard to break out of bad habits, but my teacher really helped. Like I said before, the short term effects were great, but after at least 6 lessons, I've improved immensely. I can't wait for improvements in the future.

I highly suggest voice lessons. You may think you're the best singer in the entire world, but let me tell you- we can always improve. Always. No matter what. And if you truely are the best singer in the world, insight and practice will make you even better.

No matter what it is you need imrovement on, there is always room to do so.

Until next time,

Emma


Recent Posts
bottom of page