top of page

"Family"

"Family" is a term not just used to express your relationship with relatives but also to express a close bond with friends and people you have many common interests with. If we are so comfortable with "besties" to call them immediate family, then why do we take jabs at people that we share common interests with- specifically music.

A common jab I hear is "I liked [insert band name here] before they were popular." Congratulations. You knew who they were AND, in fact, liked them before me. That earns some recognition. Okay, I know, I know. This isn't something to be bothered by and/or think is serious. It really isn't, but when it's directed at you- when you are a dedicated fan that just wants to listen to music you love- it's downright stupid.

All I want to do is bond with people that like the same things that I do. But that's really hard to accomplish when all we do is fight.

Recently, I was asked to write an essay on how music benefits me and why. I’ve come upon the conclusion that music is therapeutic. Well duh. I know I’m not the first to say this, but after fights and brawls have spurred from music, I think we should reconsider how it can be used. (I would like to add additionally that this is nothing personal but-) ”boy bands” are stupid. My opinion obviously, but they really are. I’d hate to be narcissistic over this subject, but all a “boy band” is, is exactly what it says. Just for the boys. People obsess over them, want to “marry them” and fight over which member of the band is theirs and only theirs. This, and my attitude towards the subject, is how the brutal teenage throw down begins. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve fallen for a few boy band members myself (Justin Timberlake for the win, but really who hasn’t), but to be fair, those were the 90’s. Okay, off topic…. Like I said anonymously in that essay, music heals, calms, exuberates, and talks. Music speaks to those who listen.

If something so “simple” can have such a great effect, then why must we take it for granted. Why can’t we use it for good instead of using music for our own personal argument.

Until next time,

Emma


Recent Posts
bottom of page