top of page

A Hair Epiphany!

I take great pride in my hair. I spend time on it because it's short and I want to grow it out healthily and naturally. To do so, I must have a routine.

My "hair care routine" is very simple.

I don't use shampoo and conditioner.

That's step one.

When I use shampoo and condition, such as Head and Shoulders, my hair get's super greasy and nasty super fast. This may be the chemicals in the products that strips my hair of its natural oils, but no matter what, my hair would get greasy after maybe even 2 days. It's terrible!

Instead, I mix baking soda and water, let it sit in a small container and apply to my damp hair. Then I mix with 1 part Apple Cider Vinegar and 2 parts water. I let the baking soda sit in my hair for 1 minute and then rinse with the vinegar. It makes this funny chemical reaction in my hair that gets all fizzy and such. I don't know exactly how it helps my hair but I know it's softer, has more volume, and lasts longer without becoming greasy. I've only used this method twice and I swear by it. The proper name for it is the "no-poo" Method. As in- no shampoo.

The next step is to use a wooden brush. The wood absorbs natural oils in your hair and spreads them out evenly about your hair. I got my brush from Whole Foods and it works wonders. So far it's only working wonders so I have nothing else to base that on.

No heat. Or heat to a minimal. Heat, straighteners, curlers, are just bad altogether. And that's it.

I have to treat my hair as well as I do myself.

Until next time,

Emma


Recent Posts
bottom of page