top of page

Favoritism

Favoritism: the practice of giving unfair preferential treatment to one person or group at the expense of another.

You may see this everywhere. For me, I specifically see it in school. We call this kid the "teachers' pet" (and,

unfortunately, nobody likes him/her unless you're the teacher). We usually see this in elementary school and on. The "teachers' pet's" usually consisted of over-achievers or the quiet ones that knew every answer. They liked these kids because they didn't have to do much for them, I suppose. But, this year was different. Instead of minor slack-edge for the teachers, they want to be popular. Who doesn't? And, what's the only way to succeed in the popular crowd? Get with the popular crowd.

Let me clarify- really quick. Not all of my teachers are like this. As in, they haven't adopted their pet, yet. Out of my 9 teachers, maybe 6 of them have "pets". And 1 in each class? that means there are at least 42 kids that are favorites by my 6 teachers. Not to mention, half of them are probably favorites in their other classes, too. That cuts down half but 21 kids in only MY classes... that's a lot.

Anyway, this year, I've seen a lot of popular kids getting all of the attention, especially from teachers. Whether it be for popular sake, or because they demand it- either way, they get all of the attention. I'm not mad about this specifically but for the fact that favoritism even exists. Frankly, I think it's unprofessional. Though, I know, there's no room for Emma, here, to say that. Therefore, I leave it (this portion of this blog) here. Where you, teachers and students, can determine it for yourselves.

I've seen movies where favoritism is so crazy, they raise the kids grade just because. I don't like that. You should work for your grade. I work super hard, even when it doesn't look like I am, but my grade will only be raised if I earn it, I get that. I understand and respect that.

Yeah, yeah.. I know I started this paragraph by saying "I've seen movies..." and movies aren't reality- but still.

With this in mind, I encourage each and every one of you to work hard for your high ranked achievements instead of sucking up to get them. That is not earning- that's called receiving.

Until next time,

Emma


Recent Posts
bottom of page