top of page

"I Hate Mondays"

In my household, there is yoga, meditation, and visualization. I do a lot of yoga and meditation, but not so much visualization. Visualization is easy- you just visualize yourself doing something to reach your goal to get yourself in the mind set to achieve that goal in reality. Apparently it really helps, but I don't really do it, for reasons unknown- especially to me. Keep this definition in the back of your mind as we continue with this blog entry.

We all get that happy feeling when the bell rings for dismissal on Friday and that sinking feeling on Sunday that you haven't gotten your homework done yet. And we all dread waking up on Monday after sleeping in on Saturday and the day thereafter. And the words "I hate Mondays" have at least crossed our lips once in our separate lifetimes. Some, more than others. I hear this all the time. By peers, by elders, by everyone.

Bringing back visualization: If you imagine- or visualize, if you will- waking up the next morning and getting straight on to your stationary bike and biking a mile before school, you'll most likely, at least, get on the bike. That's a step further than you would've gone rather than by saying "I'm going to sleep-in in the morning". So, what does saying "I hate mondays" do to us? You would think it does nothing to our psyche, but it automatically wakes you up into a bad mood that dreaded Monday morning.

"Dang. What's that about? I just said that because I didn't want to get out of bed." Yeah, exactly. You, like, double tricked yourself. Too bad for you, and everyone you interacted with Monday. Poor, Janice- just trying to ask for a pencil- but, instead, she got the wrath of the Sunday night/Monday morning, demon possessed, exhausted, frazzled you. All because you "hate mondays".

I'm not saying to lie to yourself and yell out how much you "love Mondays" but rather to try and get into the mindset of looking forward to a new day, and enjoying what new things it has to bring. It may be the last day you're on this precious planet. And you won't stress yourself out because tomorrow's Monday. That's it. It's a new day of the week and it just so happens to be called 'Monday'.

Look forward to new adventures Monday will bring you. They may not be extraordinary, but they won't kill you.

Until next time,

Emma


Recent Posts
bottom of page