top of page

Poptropica

I have been obsessed with Poptropica since I was in Third grade. Poptropica was is the best online game in the world. They target it to younger kids which they definitely accomplished, but it's stuck with me. Poptropica is like Webkinz or Club Penguin but for the population that doesn't want to pay real money for everything. Sure, it has it's flaws, but everything does. So, there.

My dad asked me once, after binge playing for almost 3 hours, why I liked the game so much. I didn't know how to answer. I thought, maybe, it had something to do with nostalgia from elementary school, or maybe I just got sucked in and addicted like every other game in the world results in. That's what sells, right? And truth is, I didn't know the answer to the question until I was playing it recently- Why do I love this game so much?

Poptropica is based around your character who is always the hero. You travel to different "Islands" with new plots, new villains, new quests, etc,... From saving the island from prison escapees that got super powers when their prison was hit with a radioactive meteor to calming down a giant shark with a coconut that has mystical powers to Peanuts Island where you do certain tasks to help the comic characters from Peanuts set up for a Halloween Party. To do such things, you walk around and ask people if they need help. That's when it hit me. When you go up to someone, it's usually because they look like their in distress, so you say "Hey, who are you" "what's up?" and "how can I help?". No matter what, you always ask "How can I help?".

This game isn't like Assassins Creed where you go around killing innocent people, no- you are always doing the right thing and putting bad people in their place, and helping people. I really like helping people.

I'm addicted to a game that is centered around helping made up characters.

Bro! That's it! I just really like solving problems, and helping people.

So, then, another thing occurred to me: Why would I do this in a virtual world when I can do these things now? I can volunteer at CAHS (Capital Area Humane Society) or at the Library or at the theatre... the list goes on, and help real people. This is fantastic!

It's a tad bit disappointing just figuring this out now, but I'm so young, and I can live the rest of my life volunteering. I encourage you to do the same.

Until next time,

Emma

Some quick honorable mentions:

Neopets

Club Penguin

Webkinz

ToonTown

Wizard 101

Pirate 101


Recent Posts
bottom of page